TV and Movies

Heart To Arts
What the Abercrombie and Fitch doc and my missed opportunity at becoming a multi-millionaire have in common
This is going to be a quick one because I’m literally getting ready to hop on a plane to Ireland in a few hours and I need to stock up on snacks at Trader Joe’s first so let’s just dive in. Every American millennial knew about the social status definer known as Abercrombie and Fitch. While I won’t dive into the details of what the Netflix documentary is …
Read more
Heart To Arts
Above all else, choose you!
I was watching the current season of Married at First Sight (season 12) and I need to talk more about Bao. Also, I promise this has a point! Basically, Bao is being treated terribly in her marriage. He insults her, belittles her, and dismisses her feelings on a regular basis as she tries to u…
Read more
Heart To Arts
Red flags on dating apps (inspired by Johnny dumb, trifling face on MAFS last night)
Today’s article is not specifically about Married at First Sight but it’s inspired by all the greasy-footed nonsense that I’ve seen on this show. So I’m going to make a list of all the red flags I have experienced or never want to experience in dating. The items on this list are non-starters. If I experienced one of these things then there will not be a…
Read more
Heart To Arts
Where Squid Game went so wrong it hurts!
Also SPOILER ALERT I will be talking about Squid Game in as many details as i can remember and I will not be holding back (except for in my language because my mom might be reading my newsletter). You have been warned. I will be ranting about a few major pros and cons of the series in no particular order so TOOT TOOT buckle up biddies…
Read more
Heart To Arts
MAFS season 13 and guess who is moving on August 1st?!
Hey everyone!! I had to take an unexpectedly long hiatus because life got crazy and I started to feel very burned out again. But some really exciting things have happened recently!! The new season of Married at First Sight premiered yesterday and I can already tell it’s going to be delicious…
Read more
Heart To Arts
Bo Burnham’s Netflix special and how he took the trauma of the creative community and made it into a musical
I don’t know how many of you have had the chance to watch Bo’s latest Netflix special called “Inside” but dear Lordt it was a TRIP (in the best and most unsettling ways). As a person who makes their living in a creative industry, let me just say that this special was TRIGGERING. It was everything that I felt about my industry and social media (because t…
Read more
Heart To Arts
The “Strong Black Woman”, "Necessary Trauma" and Other Themes that Made me Cringe While Watching Married At First Sight
Last night was the final episode of Married at First Sight Season 12 and, sweet Jesus, it has been a trainwreck into a nursery full of disabled orphans yall. I’m not going to break down everything that happened during the two part MAFS reunion. That would be way too much and it would mostly be consumed by the overwhelming sad-boihood of Jacob the entire …
Read more
Heart To Arts
The Show that Saved My Sanity During the Never-Ending Lukewarm, Viscous Dumpster Sludge that is a Perpetual 2020 Groundhog Day
I am once again in a state of overwhelm. Between the mounting tragedies of Colombia, Palestine and the Palestinian population, the active colonization of Puerto Rico, some family drama and some friend wildness, I think my brain can only take so much mayhem before I start pulling out my eyebrow hairs again. Me ranting about this Netflix show will not (an…
Read more
Heart To Arts
013: Married At First Sight: Why I’m SO Disappointed in Pastor Cal
For anyone who has been watching this current season of Married at First Sight: I see you, I hear you, I am dumbstruck, too. Even those who don’t watch the show have probably heard the internet ablaze with confusion and disgust for one man: Chris No one has gathered the country together in hatred in this way since…
Read more
Heart To Arts
Discovery+ and Redefining Solidarity in Hard Times
This week has been another heavy one. Anti Asian violence is rampant. The George Floyd murder trial is happening right now. Anti-trans legislature is coming for the health and wellbeing of children. Yea. I’ve been feeling the weight of it all and I’m going to strongly assume that you have been, too…
Read more
Heart To Arts
008: What the Queen of England and Your Racist Coworkers Have in Common
The CBS interview. THE CBS INTERVIEW. THE GAUL. THE DRAMA. THE OPRAH. For those unfortunate souls who don’t know what I’m talking about, I’ll quickly catch you up before I adjust my bathing suit and deep dive into this thing. Basically, Oprah conducted an interview with Meghan Markle and Prince Harry about what really went down during their time at Bucki…
Read more
Heart To Arts
006: Judas and the Black Messiah
I just finished watching this movie and holy Black Jesus. Phenomenal. Truly. I will try my best to not give away spoilers but if you know your history then the ending shouldn’t be a surprise to you. There are a couple of things that I would love to talk about regarding this movie and the masterful storytelling but I also have a question when it comes to…
Read more
Heart To Arts
Why I Hate Bridgerton
I’m not even going to beat around the bush with you all: I knew I was going to hate Bridgerton from the moment I glanced it on Netflix. My gut feeling was that this show was a white woman’s wet dream when it came to fetishizing the Black male body, but I was hoping to be proven wrong. I mean, this show was a part of the Shonda Rhimes universe. The queen…
Read more
Heart To Arts
004: The DuVernay Test
For this week’s article, I’m giving all of you a simple tool to start recognizing when a film, tv show, play or any other piece of entertainment is biased against people of color. It’s called the “DuVernay Test.” There’s some history that goes along with this so let’s skip the small talk, not-Shayna, and just dive in…
Read more